Of missions and ideals

I am an East Coast kid drawn to the big blue skies and wide open spaces of the Southwest. A curious nomad, I have searched the states, western Europe and South America, before deciding that if I found a mission a home would follow. I moved to Albuquerque in 2010 and graduated from the University of New Mexico in 2012 with a degree in multimedia journalism, a minor in sociology, a 4.06 GPA and an all-consuming desire to continue writing.

So how do you make a desire a mission? How do you reconcile idealism and reality?

I believe that the intersection is journalism. For me, journalism means uncovering hard truths and treating sources and subjects with humanity, objectivity and compassion. I want to pull back the curtains that mask injustices–whether it’s about the sexism and racism that’s all around us, community concerns about big businesses, or substandard housing conditions for low income residents–and hope that in doing so I can impact the world (or at least my little corner of it).

I want to report like I give a damn.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

